The Pulitzer Prize for Drama
1920s | 1930s | 1940s | 1950s | 1960s | 1970s | 1980s | 1990s | 2000s

For more information about the Pulitzer Prizes, click here.

     No award
1918     Why marry? by Jesse Lynch Williams
1919     No award

1920     Beyond the horizon by Eugene O'Neill
1921     Miss Lulu Bett by Zona Gale
1922     Anna Christie by Eugene O'Neill
1923     Icebound by Owen Davis
1924     Hell-bent fer Heaven by Hatcher Hughes
1925     They knew what they wanted by Sidney Howard
1926     Craig's Wife by George Kelly
1927     In Abraham's bosom by Paul Green
1928     Strange interlude by Eugene O'Neill
1929     Street scene by Elmer L. Rice

1930     The green pastures by Marc Connelly
1931     Alison's house by Susan Glaspell
1932     Of thee I sing by George S. Kaufman, Morrie Ryskind and Ira Gershwin
1933     Both your houses by Maxwell Anderson
1934     Men in white by Sidney Kingsley
1935     The old maid by Zoe Akins
1936     Idiot's delight by Robert E. Sherwood
1937     You can't take it with you by Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman
1938     Our town by Thornton Wilder
1939     Abe Lincoln in Illinois, a play in twelve scenes by Robert E. Sherwood

1940     The time of your life by William Saroyan
1941     There shall be no night by Robert E. Sherwood
1942     No award
1943     The skin of our teeth by Thornton Wilder
1944     No award
1945     Harvey by Mary Chase
1946     State of the union by Russel Crouse and Howard Lindsay
1947     No award
1948     A streetcar named Desire by Tennessee Williams
1949     Death of a salesman by Arthur Miller

1950     South Pacific by Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein, 2d and Joshua Logan (vocal selections)
1951     No award
1952     The shrike by Joseph Kramm
1953     Picnic : a summer romance in three acts by William Inge
1954     The teahouse of the August moon by John Patrick
1955     Cat on a hot tin roof by Tennessee Williams
1956     The diary of Anne Frank by Albert Hackett and Frances Goodrich
1957     Long day's journey into night by Eugene O'Neill
1958     Look homeward, angel by Ketti Frings
1959     J. B. by Archibald Macleish

1960     Fiorello! Book by Jerome Weidman and George Abbott; music by Jerry Bock; lyrics by Sheldon Harnick
1961     All the way home by Tad Mosel
1962     How to succeed in business without really trying by Frank Loesser and Abe Burrows (vocal selections)(CD)
1963     No award
1964     No award
1965     The subject was roses by Frank D. Gilroy
1966     No award
1967     A delicate balance by Edward Albee
1968     No award
1969     The great white hope by Howard Sackler

1970     No place to be somebody by Charles Gordone
1971     The effect of gamma rays on man-in-the-moon marigolds by Paul Zindel
1972     No award
1973     That championship season by Jason Miller
1974     No award
1975     Seascape by Edward Albee
1976     A chorus line, conceived, choreographed and directed by Michael Bennett; book by James Kirkwood and Nicholas Dante; music by Marvin Hamlisch; lyrics by Edward Kleban. (CD)
1977     The shadow box by Michael Cristofer
1978     The gin game by Donald L. Coburn
1979     Buried child by Sam Shepard

1980     Talley's folly by Lanford Wilson
1981     Crimes of the heart by Beth Henley
1982     A soldier's play by Charles Fuller
1983     'night, mother by Marsha Norman
1984     Glengarry Glen Ross by David Mamet
1985     Sunday in the park with George, Music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim; book by James Lapine (CD)
1986     No award
     Fences by August Wilson
1988     Driving Miss Daisy by Alfred Uhry
1989     The Heidi chronicles by Wendy Wasserstein

1990     The piano lesson by August Wilson
1991     Lost in Yonkers by Neil Simon
1992     The Kentucky cycle by Robert Schenkkan
1993     Angels in America : a gay fantasia on national themes, part 1 : Millennium approaches by Tony Kushner
1994     Three tall women by Edward Albee
1995     The young man from Atlanta by Horton Foote
1996     Rent by Jonathan Larson (CD)
1997     No award
1998     How I learned to drive by Paula Vogel
1999     Wit by Margaret Edson

2000     Dinner with friends by Donald Margulies
2001     Proof by David Auburn
2002     Topdog/underdog by Suzan-Lori Parks
     Anna in the tropics by Nilo Cruz
2004     I am my own wife : studies for a play about the life of Charlotte von Mahlsdorf by Doug Wright
2005     Doubt : a parable by John Patrick Shanley
2006     No award
2007     Rabbit hole by David Lindsay-Abaire
2008     August : Osage County by Tracy Letts
2009     Ruined by Lynn Nottage
2010     Next to Normal, music by Tom Kitt, book and lyrics by Brian Yorkey (vocal selections)(CD)
2011     Clybourne Park by Bruce Norris
2012     Water by the spoonful by Quiara Alegrķa Hudes
2013     Disgraced by Ayad Akhtar
2014     The flick by Annie Baker
2015     Between Riverside and crazy by Stephen Adly Guirgis
2016     Hamilton by Lin-Manuel Miranda (CD)
2017     Sweat by Lynn Nottage
2018     Cost of living by Martyna Majok