The Pulitzer Prize for Novel (1917-1947) and for Fiction (1948-present)

1920s | 1930s | 1940s | 1950s | 1960s | 1970s | 1980s | 1990s | 2000s

For more information about the Pulitzer Prizes, click here.

     No award
     His family by Ernest Poole (Project Gutenberg)
1919     The magnificent Ambersons by Booth Tarkington (Project Gutenberg)

1920     No award
1921     The age of innocence by Edith Wharton (Project Gutenberg)
1922     Alice Adams by Booth Tarkington (Project Gutenberg)
1923     One of ours by Willa Cather (Project Gutenberg)
1924     The able McLaughlins by Margaret Wilson
1925     So big by Edna Ferber
1926     Arrowsmith by Sinclair Lewis
1927     Early autumn by Louis Bromfield
1928     The bridge of San Luis Rey by Thornton Wilder
1929     Scarlet Sister Mary by Julia Peterkin

1930     Laughing Boy by Oliver Lafarge
1931     Years of grace by Margaret Ayer Barnes
1932     The good earth by Pearl S. Buck
1933     The store by T. S. Stribling
1934     Lamb in his bosom by Caroline Miller
1935     Now in November by Josephine Winslow Johnson
1936     Honey in the horn by Harold L. Davis
1937     Gone with the wind by Margaret Mitchell
1938     The late George Apley by John Phillips Marquand
1939     The yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

1940     The grapes of wrath by John Steinbeck
1941     No award
1942     In this our life by Ellen Glasgow
1943     Dragon's teeth by Upton Sinclair
1944     Journey in the dark by Martin Flavin
1945     A bell for Adano by John Hersey
1946     No award
1947     All the king's men by Robert Penn Warren
1948     Tales of the South Pacific by James A. Michener
1949     Guard of honor by James Gould Cozzens

1950     The way west by A. B. Guthrie, Jr.
1951     The town by Conrad Richter
1952     The Caine mutiny by Herman Wouk
1953     The old man and the sea by Ernest Hemingway
1954     No award
1955     A fable by William Faulkner
1956     Andersonville by MacKinlay Kantor
1957     No award
1958     A death in the family by James Agee (a posthumous publication)
1959     The travels of Jaimie McPheeters by Robert Lewis Taylor

1960     Advise and consent by Allen Drury
1961     To kill a mockingbird by Harper Lee
1962     The edge of sadness by Edwin O'Connor
1963     The reivers by William Faulkner
1964     No award
1965     The keepers of the house by Shirley Ann Grau
1966     Collected stories by Katherine Anne Porter
1967     The fixer by Bernard Malamud
1968     The confessions of Nat Turner by William Styron
1969     House made of dawn by N. Scott Momaday

1970     The collected stories of Jean Stafford by Jean Stafford
1971     No award
1972     Angle of repose by Wallace Stegner
1973     The optimist's daughter by Eudora Welty
1974     No award
1975     The killer angels by Michael Shaara
1976     Humboldt's gift by Saul Bellow
1977     No award
1978     Elbow room : stories by James Alan McPherson
1979     The stories of John Cheever by John Cheever

1980     The executioner's song by Norman Mailer
1981     A confederacy of dunces by John Kennedy Toole
1982     Rabbit is rich by John Updike
1983     The color purple by Alice Walker
1984     Ironweed by William Kennedy
1985     Foreign affairs by Alison Lurie
1986     Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry
1987     A summons to Memphis by Peter Taylor
1988     Beloved by Toni Morrison
1989     Breathing lessons by Anne Tyler

1990     The mambo kings play songs of love by Oscar Hijuelos
1991     Rabbit at rest by John Updike
1992     A thousand acres by Jane Smiley
1993     A good scent from a strange mountain : stories by Robert Olen Butler
1994     The shipping news by E. Annie Proulx
1995     The stone diaries by Carol Shields
1996     Independence day by Richard Ford
1997     Martin Dressler : the tale of an American dreamer by Steven Millhauser
1998     American pastoral by Philip Roth
1999     The hours by Michael Cunningham

2000     Interpreter of maladies : stories by Jhumpa Lahiri
2001     The amazing adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon
2002     Empire falls by Richard Russo
2003     Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
2004     The known world by Edward P. Jones
2005     Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
2006     March by Geraldine Brooks
2007     The road by Cormac McCarthy
2008     The brief wondrous life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz
2009     Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout
2010     Tinkers by Paul Harding
2011     A visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
2012     No award
2013     The orphan master's son : a novel by Adam Johnson
2014     The goldfinch by Donna Tartt
2015     All the light we cannot see : a novel by Anthony Doerr
2016     The sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen
2017     The underground railroad : a novel by Colson Whitehead
2018     Less : a novel by Andrew Sean Greer