Hawthornden Prize

For more information about the Miss A. H. Warrender Trust for Hawthornden Prize, click here.

2017     Mothering Sunday by Graham Swift
2016     The past by Tessa Hadley
2015     Nora Webster : a novel by Colm Tóibín
2014     Dear boy by Emily Berry
2013     Out there by Jamie McKendrick
2012     There but for the by Ali Smith
2011     What to look for in winter : a memoir in blindness by Candia McWilliam:
2010     A sleepwalk on the Severn by Alice Oswald
2009     The world is what it is : the authorized biography of V. S. Naipaul by Patrick French
2008     Darkmans by Nicola Barker
2007     Carry me down by M. J. Hyland
2006     Stuart : a life backwards by Alexander Masters
2005     The promise of happiness by Justin Cartwright
2004     John Clare : a biography by Jonathan Bate
2003     The snow geese : a story of home by William Fiennes
2002     The voices of Morebath : Reformation and rebellion in an English village by Eamon Duffy
2001     Hey yeah right get a life by Helen Simpson (American edition here)
2000     The weather in Japan by Michael Longley
1999     Stalingrad by Antony Beevor
1998     Somebody else : Arthur Rimbaud in Africa, 1880-91 by Charles Nicholl
1997     The debt to pleasure : a novel by John Lanchester
1996     An experiment in love by Hilary Mantel
1995     Collected poems by James Michie
1994     In the place of fallen leaves : a novel by Tim Pears
1993     The tap dancer by Andrew Barrow
1992     Of love and asthma by Ferdinand Mount
1991     The invisible woman : the story of Nelly Ternan and Charles Dickens by Claire Tomalin
1990     Short afternoons by Kit Wright
1989     Talking heads : six monologues by Alan Bennett
1988     Behind the wall : a journey through China by Colin Thubron
1983     Allegro postillions by Jonathan Keates
1982     Sour sweet by Timothy Mo
1981     St. Kilda's Parliament by Douglas Dunn
1980     Arcadia by Christopher Reid
1979     Kindergarten by Peter S. Rushforth
1978     Walter : a novel by David Cook
1977     In Patagonia by Bruce Chatwin
1976     Falstaff : a novel by Robert Nye
1975     Changing places by David Lodge
1974     Awakenings by Oliver Sacks
1970     Monk Dawson by Piers Paul Read
1969     King Log by Geoffrey Hill
1968     Early Renaissance by Michael Levey
1967     The Russian interpreter by Michael Frayn
1965     The old boys by William Trevor
1964     Mr Stone and the Knights Companion by V. S. Naipaul
1963     The price of glory : Verdun 1916 by Alistair Horne
1962     The sun doctor by Robert Shaw
1961     Lupercal by Ted Hughes
1960     The loneliness of the long-distance runner by Alan Sillitoe
1958     A beginning by Dom Moraes
1944     Letters to Malaya by Martyn Skinner
1943     The cruel solstice and The iron laurel by Sidney Keyes
1942     England is my village by John Llewellyn Rhys
1941     The power and the glory by Graham Greene
1940     London fabric by James Pope-Hennessy
1939     Penthesperon by Christopher Hassall
1938     In Parenthesis by David Jones
1937     A trophy of arms by Ruth Pitter
1936     Edmund Campion by Evelyn Waugh
1935     I, Claudius by Robert Graves
1934     Lost horizon by James Hilton
1933     Collected poems by Vita Sackville-West
1932     The fountain by Charles Morgan
1931     Without my cloak by Kate O'Brien
1930     The end of the world by Geoffrey Dennis
1929     The stricken deer; or, The life of Cowper by Lord David Cecil
1928     The memoirs of a fox-hunting man by Siegfried Sassoon
1927     Tarka the otter by Henry Williamson
1926     The land by Vita Sackville-West
1925     Juno and the paycock by Sean O'Casey
1924     The Spanish farm by Ralph Hale Mottram
1923     Lady into fox by David Garnett
1922     The shepherd and other poems of peace and war by Edmund Blunden
1921     The death of society : a novel of tomorrow by Romer Wilson (audio version here)
1920     Poems new and old by John Freeman
1919     The Queen of China and other poems by Edward Shanks